Barsetshire Novels
Read Online

Barsetshire Novels 6-Volume Set by Anthony Trollope

  • 494 Want to read
  • ·
  • 38 Currently reading

Published .
Written in English

Book details:

The Physical Object
Pagination6 vols
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL10134128M
ISBN 100195213025
ISBN 109780195213027

Download Barsetshire Novels


Barsetshire is the county in which the novels take place. The county town and cathedral town is Barchester. Other towns mentioned in the novels include Silverbridge, Hogglestock and Greshamsbury. Included in this volume: Book One: The Warden -- Mr Septimus Harding, elderly warden of Hiram's Hospital and Precentor of Barchester Cathedral/5(). rows  The Chronicles of Barsetshire is a series of six novels by the English author Anthony . Barsetshire is a series of satirical romance novels written by Angela Thirkell. The books are about everything and nothing at the same. They deal with love and life, and they explore various types of relationships via the conversations between the characters. The Barsetshire novels are perhaps the best loved of all Trollope’s novels. First published between and , the six novels in the Barsetshire series have remained favourites ever since. The series opens with The Warden, where we are introduced to the cathedral city of Barchester and the surrounding county of Barsetshire.

Nationality British Description. Anthony Trollope (; 24 April – 6 December ) was an English novelist of the Victorian era. Among his best-known works is a series of novels collectively known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire. The Chronicles of Barsetshire book series by Anthony Trollope includes books The Warden, Barchester Towers, Doctor Thorne, and several more. See the complete Chronicles of Barsetshire series book list in order, box sets or omnibus editions, and companion titles.   Author Trollope saw much recognition and appreciation for these novels and hence, decided to continue writing more novels based on Barsetshire by staying in England. One of the successful novel series written by author Anthony Trollope is titled as ‘Pallier’ series, which consists of 6 books published between the years and These stories are set in Anthony Trollope's fictional Barsetshire county. Written from to are comedies of manners, combining satire and romance, and mostly set in the time that they were written, although the books in the s were less contemporary. Thirkell alludes to a number of different authors in her works.

Barsetshire novels, a series of six connected novels by Anthony Trollope set in the fictional west England county of Barset. Trollope prided himself on the scope and detail with which he imagined the geography, history, and social structure of his fictional county. Nevertheless, character. The Chronicles of Barsetshire is a series of novels that were written by Anthony Trollope back in the s. Set in the fictional town of Barchester, the novels delve into the intricacies of the gentry and the clergy, this along with the political and social forces that drive the people in the cathedral town. The novel Barchester Pilgrimage (), and some of the episodes in Let Dons Delight (), both by Ronald Knox, refer to Barsetshire and its inhabitants. Barsetshire was also used as the setting for a series of 29 novels by Angela Thirkell, written from Created by: Anthony Trollope.   Some of his best-known books collectively comprise the Chronicles of Barsetshire series, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire and includes the books The Warden, Barchester Towers, Doctor Thorne, and others. Trollope wrote nearly 50 novels in all, in addition to short stories, essays, and : Musaicum Books.